Day 10 and a new blog

Well this is my first foray into the world of blogging…. here we go!

I’m sure most of my readers (all 3 or 4 of them) already know me and my family situation, but for those that don’t I will gradually introduce bits and pieces over the first few posts.

Today’s theme is Day 10.  I am not superstitious but the number 10 seems to have been appearing a lot in my life recently.   So today seemed like a good day to start a blog.

10 days ago my lovely new baby, Samuel, was born.  He was delivered by Caesarean section at 9.58am (ooh, so close, almost 10am…).  He came out screaming and had excellent Apgar scores (9, then 10 and 10 at 1, 5 and 10 minutes).  He was weighed, his cord was clamped and cut, and he was handed to me after only a few minutes for skin to skin cuddles which lasted for a few hours – fantastic. We came home 3 days later, he was ready on day 2 but my blood pressure was playing up so we got to stay another night.  So different to our last experience of parenthood, when our little boy arrived suddenly and far too early, was grey and unresponsive, and was whisked off to intensive care before I’d had a chance to see him properly, or even to find out if he was a boy or a girl.  Samuel beat his brother’s in-patient record by 147 days.

It could be the oxytocin speaking, but having a healthy newborn is the most fantastic thing in the world.  I might never get a full night’s sleep again, and my washing machine might never be switched off ever again, but when I look at my gorgeous new boy I couldn’t care less.  He is the most cuddly and sweet thing in the world, and I’m really enjoying new motherhood again, this time with a more “normal” experience.  There is something fundamentally satisfying about cuddling up with a small baby, perhaps something uniquely feminine even.  Something instinctive, something which makes my cerebellum as happy as a large stodgy meal or falling in love or the first sunny day of spring. For someone who considers herself a rational, left brained, no-nonsense person, not prone to gushing emotions or tears, its lovely to indulge in a bit of hormonal emotional behaviour of the best kind.

I’m sure I’m enjoying it so much more because I know how things could have been so different, because I understand what its like to have a baby who stays in hospital when I go home, who can’t breathe for himself, who is not expected to live.  Every birth is a miracle, and the birth of a healthy baby especially so.   Welcome to my baby bubble!

About ilove10

Here I spew forth my musings on being a mum to 2 boys, on faith, life, premature birth, child development and buying a fixer-upper Grade II listed house. Welcome! My older son has an expressive communication delay, we use Makaton signing as well as speech. He is very interested in numbers and letters. Recently we were practising expressing emotions by signing “I love…” and he volunteered “I love 10″, hence the name of this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 10 and a new blog

  1. karen says:

    Sounds like us with the number 13, My birthday the 13th, Heather born at 10.13, weighed 5.13 and her first house no.13 Lucky for me 🙂 x

    • ilove10 says:

      Funny how these coincidences spring up isn’t it? Of course they are bound to arrive now and again but somehow it always feels special doesn’t it! Lucky number 13 won our family a hamper at a ballet show when I was 5 or 6, I always remember my dad complaining about getting number 13 in the raffle draw then having to eat his words when we won the big prize!

Leave a Reply

