Squidgey and Bobblehead

Darren and I thought long and hard about the names for our sons.  We wanted names that would be recognised but not too of the moment, names with meaning, names which sounded balanced with our surname.

Which is a shame, as I don’t actually use them much.  It all started when Nathan was 5 weeks old.  My sister took the opportunity of more open visiting rules during a 2 night stay in Great Ormond Street to meet her nephew.  She took one look at him and exclaimed “oh, he’s so squidgey”.  From then onwards he was known as squidgey.  Or squidgeroo.  Or, infact, a variety of different pet names that have evolved over time. The most recent one is monkey midget, because he is one.  Nathan David is saved for episodes of maternal wrath where I am yelling across a playground for him to stop doing something.

The second born son has occasionally been called by his actual name, which is already migrating from Samuel towards Sammy Sam.  But more commonly he is known as bobblehead (because he has a bobbly head of course).

Neither myself nor Darren really had nicknames when we were younger, or for each other as adults, so perhaps this is venting our un-nick-named frustrations on our children.

What do you call your little ones, apart from their actual names?

About ilove10

Here I spew forth my musings on being a mum to 2 boys, on faith, life, premature birth, child development and buying a fixer-upper Grade II listed house. Welcome! My older son has an expressive communication delay, we use Makaton signing as well as speech. He is very interested in numbers and letters. Recently we were practising expressing emotions by signing “I love…” and he volunteered “I love 10″, hence the name of this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Squidgey and Bobblehead

  1. So long as the nicknames don’t get used when they’re grown-up and bringing friends over lol

    Also, the one time *I* tried shortening your name you were less than impressed 😛 plus you’ve just taken naming things based on what they’re like (need I remind you of Slidy and Shiny?) to a bit of an extreme 😉

  2. Eleanor says:

    Pooch
    Jengi
    Sniffles
    (and the last one is still in use occasionally – she 1a 21)

  3. ilove10 says:

    great names Eleanor! Wulfen – I’m fully intending to be one of those mothers that calls them “my special baby” in front of their mates and gets out the naked baby photos when the girlfriends come round. Surely it is my duty to my sons to be horribly embarrassing? I’m sure they will think I am anyway, so I might as well give them a good reason. 🙂

Leave a Reply

