1950s housewife heaven

I am so happy! I am in 1950s housewife heaven.  Yesterday, dear reader, a large van delivered my new shiny washing machine.  This morning my loving husband installed it, right next to our stainless steel kitchen sink.  I am currently running my second load of washing, and am soooo pleased.

Since we moved house almost 3 weeks ago, I have been without washing machine.  Doing the washing is usually my job, one of the few household chores I am in charge of.  Having 2 small children and no washing machine has been pretty hard.  We get through about 4 loads a week, and I’ve had to manage my clothes quite carefully as I only have a limited supply of feeding bras and summer clothes.  Due to a kind friend with a full time job and a spare key, I have been saved the laundrette – but moving a load of washing and a small baby out of a car, down the side of the house, through a side gate and into her house then returning 90 minutes later to repeat the performance has just about done for my shoulders.

In other news from the 1950s, I dropped the eldest child off at nursery this morning and went shopping in the local “mall”, looking for some pretty new clothes (aka something that actually fit me post baby) and some presents for friends’ children who have birthdays.  I also came home with a great deal tupperware. Once home I put all our dry goods into tupperware (mouse proofing, we think we might have furry friends visiting) then did the washing up next to my shiny new washing machine.  At that point my husband popped into the kitchen to get his fried bacon lunch (ok so he grilled it himself on the george foreman) and I said I felt like he should be in car sales or advertising or something.  He pointed out that he is, infact, in advertising.  Doh! I think my brain has gone all 1950s housewife too.

All this excitement, and it was only a few days ago this week when our house was connected to the telephone exchange.  The workmen brought a cherry picker to reach the outside of the house as the wire to the mast was so old that it had to be replaced.  So, dear reader, we are in the 20th century.  (We hope to reach the 21st century in a fortnight when the internet is connected!)

About ilove10

Here I spew forth my musings on being a mum to 2 boys, on faith, life, premature birth, child development and buying a fixer-upper Grade II listed house. Welcome! My older son has an expressive communication delay, we use Makaton signing as well as speech. He is very interested in numbers and letters. Recently we were practising expressing emotions by signing “I love…” and he volunteered “I love 10″, hence the name of this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

